01
Aug
09

Motherly Love Lost

Last night I was in Central Jersey co-teaching a seminar entitled “Seerah: An Intellectual Discoure on the Prophet’s Life”. (The seminar was organized by my good friend Faraz Khan and had a great turnout. You can find details of it here)

After the program ended, I was trying to rush out so that I could stop by my parent’s home on my way back to New York. These days, even though I live about an hour away from where I grew up, I can count the hours on my hands of how much time I spend monthly in NJ. So now when the opportunity arose to see my mother and father, I was trying to get there as fast as I could.

As I stopped to talk to a few of the students on my way out, I noticed an eldery woman who was waiting to speak to me. When she and I finally started to speak to one another, she started the conversation by telling me that I didn’t recognize her. As we continued to speak, she reminded me that she and I had spoken a few times before, but hadn’t ever actually met in person. Her son, Omar, had been admitted into NYU’s medical center a few months earlier and had entered into a coma from which he did not wake up. May Allah have mercy upon him and grant him the highest level of jannah without any judgement.

As she mentioned his name, her voice trembled and intermittent tears began to fall from her eyes. Her husband then joined in the conversation and we briefly revisited the time that they had spent at NYU. I then learned that Omar wasn’t their only child. They have a daughter and another son. This son is Omar’s twin brother. At this point two things came into my mind.

Firstly, when you lose someone you love, it hurts. Many of us have felt the pain of losing someone at some point in our lives. A relationship gone sour, a friend or relative moving away, changes in priorities, and of course death. Some of these are more obviously ultimate than others, but each still resulting in pain. Even within the Islamic tradition, the Prophet Muhammad, peace be upon him, has a year in his seerah that is known as the “Year of Grief” in which his wife Khadijah, may Allah be pleased with her, passed away as well his uncle Abu Talib.  All of us have felt that loss as some point. But imagine what it would feel like to see someone who looks like the person you lost every day. In this instance this woman had not only lost someone that she loved, but, because she had been blessed with twins, every day she would see someone who looks just like her beloved child who passed away. What a strong woman she must be to be tested in this way.

Secondly, the love a mother has for a child is most unique. I think a lot of us take for granted that relationship and in seeing the pain on this woman’s face I only could think of my own mother. My mother who calls me daily to see if I am eating properly, who ask me if I am getting enough sleep, who asks me when I am going to come home to visit, and who stays awake til the late hours of the night waiting for me when the only time I can come home is at a time when everyone else would be asleep. Its no wonder that the debt I owe to her is something that can never be repaid.

I am sure this woman would give anything to spend even one more minute with her child. Inshallah Allah will reunite them in the highest levels of jannah amidst the company of all those whom they love and the company of His most beloved, ‘alayhis salaam.

31 Responses to “Motherly Love Lost”


  1. 1 Fatima
    August 1, 2009 at 3:56 am

    SubhanAllah. May Allah give her strength

  2. 2 Jawaad Ahmad Khan
    August 1, 2009 at 4:07 am

    Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raa ji’oon

    May Allah ease her pain and may He bring them together again, InshaAllah

  3. 3 Abdur-Rahim
    August 1, 2009 at 4:11 am

    Inna Lillahi Wa Inna Ilayhi Rajiun! May Allah accept your duas, and may He give her the strength to endure and be patient, and may Allah replace her lost with something better and greater. Ameen

    Jazzak’Allahu Kairan for sharing!

  4. 4 m.
    August 1, 2009 at 6:58 am

    AsSalaamu Alaikum- mashaAllah this piece is lovely, as does your blog. may Allah SWT continue to bless you with the ability to reach out to people and help them through and through.

  5. 5 m.
    August 1, 2009 at 7:01 am

    inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji’oon. may Allah SWT bless omar’s mother with strength and reunite her with omar in jannah inshaAllah

  6. 6 Umer Khan
    August 1, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Salam,

    Very moving. Sometimes we all forget the treasure that is in our parents.

  7. 7 Asmaa
    August 2, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    as salamu ‘alaykum

    Ameen. I can’t imagine how painful that must be for that mother. Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji’un.

  8. 8 farooq
    August 3, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    Ameen.

    Very moving — and true, Khalid.

  9. 9 Jay
    August 4, 2009 at 8:34 am

    Very moving. Thank you for sharing.

  10. August 29, 2009 at 3:45 am

    Wow. Incredible. It’s funny because I was just thinking today of something my mom said to me when I was down that was so sweet and in words only a mother would think of to say. It was in urdu and I’d be embarrassed to translate but point is, a mother’s love is truly unique.

  11. May 12, 2013 at 9:25 pm

    leć – odparował Frodo. – Jak również owe sądzę, click here przedtem trochę
    zrobię, W odróżnieniu…
    – Tudzież co twój analityczny mózg podpowiada ci niedługo?
    – przerwał z przekąsem
    Wagner.
    Wiedział, że nie posiada okoliczności tudzież był na siebie wadliwy, Frodo go zignorował.

    – Że owo nie jakieś. Nie wydaje się w taki sposób, na miarę się zdaje zewnętrznie.
    ..
    Uprzejmie usiadł na wysłaniu, unikając gwałtownych ruchów,

  12. May 16, 2013 at 5:18 pm

    First of all I would like to say great blog! I had a quick
    question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear
    your mind prior to writing. I’ve had trouble clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out. I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips? Kudos!

  13. May 27, 2013 at 12:49 pm

    You are so cool! I do not think I have read anything like
    that before. So good to discover somebody with a few original thoughts on this subject matter.
    Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up.
    This website is something that is required on the web,
    someone with some originality!

  14. June 9, 2013 at 7:16 am

    Appreciation to my father who shared with me about this blog,
    this blog is in fact awesome.

  15. June 16, 2013 at 7:32 am

    zentacyjny. Tudzież niekłamany hołd, jaki von bezobjawowy Egger żywił na rzecz sir
    Rogera pozwalał
    przypuszczać, że nie jest owe ostatnia taka uczta.
    W końcu okoliczność należy było przekroczyć
    do konkretów. – Smok,

  16. June 26, 2013 at 10:46 pm

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on monkey theme baby shower.
    Regards

  17. July 16, 2013 at 7:58 pm

    If you desire to improve your experience only keep visiting this web site and
    be updated with the most recent information posted here.

  18. May 4, 2014 at 4:02 am

    韓国で購入の時点で間違いであることに全人類が気付くのはいつだろう トリンドルの方が素の外国人力は上なのかな
    白人様になれるんなら失明なんかお釣りがくるくらいだろ
    俺は小4の頃から見てるから生まれつきとわかるがw ちんこがカラーコンドームつけたから何やねん。 身嗜みとお洒落()の違いくらい知っとけよスイーツ

  19. May 5, 2014 at 1:58 am

    近所のミスドにちょくちょくライオンの出来損ないみたいなんおるわ
    カラコンじゃないけど俺ハードコンタクト付けて普通に弁当作ってたなw アタマ茶髪にして、別に誰にも迷惑かけてるわけじゃねーだろ
    コンタクトすら目への影響を考えるのに 神戸 最低気温2度やのに現在気温1度になっとるw
    ちゃんさんアンチの自演かと思うくらいヲタが痛い このアバターはカラコンなんかよりレントゲン写真の方がみんなの注目浴びると思うよ すぐ特定されたりするな

  20. May 18, 2014 at 8:03 am

    If you do possess a suspicious number already it can be easy to find
    out who the number is assigned to by using a reverse phone lockup.
    Perfect editing and finest storyline have adequately compensated for the work
    that is certainly done.

  21. May 19, 2014 at 12:48 am

    If your husband acts weird along with his cell phone and
    then bees over protective of it then you certainly will want to learn the best
    way to catch my cheating husband using a GPS location. The Hindi Movie Reviews is found daily in every one of
    the news papers in addition to news channels.

  22. May 19, 2014 at 5:09 pm

    This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.

    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post.
    Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks!

  23. June 13, 2014 at 4:24 am

    surefire flashlights for sale

  24. June 13, 2014 at 4:50 am

    garmin gpsmap 60csx geocaching


Leave a Reply

Who is doing the thinking


My name is Khalid Latif. I work as the Executive Director and Chaplain for the Islamic Center at New York University as well as a Chaplain for the NYPD, New York City Police Department.

Today’s Most Popular Thoughts

Top 5 Thoughts

RSS Your Thoughts on My Thoughts

Twitter Thoughts

Thoughts from the ICNYU Khutbah Podcast

Past Thoughts

Thoughts Categorized


